Catamount Metropolitan District

The Catamount Metropolitan District encompasses the property within a high-end unincorporated Routt County residential community located a few miles south of Steamboat Springs, Colorado.  The community is divided into two areas, the Lake and the Ranch.  The Metropolitan District provides service to properties at both locations. The Ranch, which consists of 25 residential lots situated around the 18 hole Catamount Golf Course is located roughly 5 miles south of Steamboat Springs on Highway 40. The Lake, which consists of 22 cabins, 11 cottage residential lots, 40 large residential lots, and Club amenities which wrap around Lake Catamount is located approximately 10 miles south of Steamboat Springs off of Highway 131.

The District was formed with governmental authorization and is primarily responsible for the operations and maintenance of the District’s roads, water treatment and distribution systems, sanitary sewer collection and treatment system at the Lake, and the dam at Lake Catamount.

The District has two full-time employees to perform the day-to-day operations of the District and also utilizes the services of Marchetti & Weaver to provide accounting and administrative services. Along with the Metropolitan District, the community is also supported by the Catamount Residential Owners Association as well as the Catamount Ranch and Club.

The District is governed by a five-member Board of Directors.  Board meetings are open to the public and are usually held at 3:00 p.m. on the second Monday of February, May, August, and October at the District’s shop and office located at 34035 East US Hwy 40, Steamboat Springs, Routt County, Colorado.   Meetings are open to the public and community members are encouraged to attend.  (Please see meeting calendar for changes).


Special Districts in Colorado

Special Districts are local governments (quasi-municipal corporations and political subdivisions of the State of Colorado) established to provide certain necessary public infrastructure, facilities and services to a community.  These improvements and services include water, sewer, streets, drainage systems, landscaping, traffic related safety enhancements, park and recreation facilities and services, fire protection, mosquito control, and transportation improvements.  There are currently over 1,800 Special Districts in Colorado providing these types of facilities and services to communities throughout the State.


The use of a Special District to provide these public improvements and facilities allows financing on a tax-exempt basis, at lower interest rates and on more favorable terms than would be otherwise available through private sector alternatives, resulting in a savings to property owners on the cost of infrastructure necessary for a community.  Special Districts as local governments are not only able to save money for their residents and property owners by selling tax-exempt bonds (to provide financing), they are also able to reduce costs by purchasing essential goods and services tax-free, and participating in intergovernmental agreements with other local governments.


Special Districts protect property values by assuring property owners that infrastructure is properly phased, and roads, water and sewer lines, and other essential facilities and services, to the extent owned and maintained by the Special District, will continue to be maintained.


As governmental entities providing essential, fundamental services, the Colorado Legislature has promoted the use of Special Districts through a governing set of statutes.  Special Districts are governed by a board of directors that must meet and act in public session with public notice, and Special Districts must comply with, among other requirements, the Colorado Open Records Act, the Local Government Budget Law, and the Local Government Audit Law.  Special Districts are also accountable to the approving jurisdiction through annual reporting requirement and service plan limitations.  For more information, please see the attached document provided by the Colorado Department of Local Government.